top of page

QoW game 2 and lunch

Game 2 saw me paired with Toby who played goblins with werewolf allies. I know toby from our local club. He lives in Chepstow so made his own way to the tournament.

Whenever I play Toby there is always good banter and this match was no different. I had played this specific list twice before, once I lost horribly to it and the 2nd time was a draw, so I was hoping the improvement was going to continue.

Here's Toby's list:

HordesTrolls 190

Trolls 190

Rabble 125

ALLY:Werewolves 245

ALLY:Werewolves 245

RegimentsFleabag Rider Sniffs 145

Fleabag Rider Sniffs 145

Troop

Mawbeast Pack 60

MonsterGiant 190

War EnginesWar-Trombone 65

War-Trombone 65

War-Trombone 65

Heroes

Biggit –Fleabag 75

Flaggit 40

Wiz -Inspiring Talisman 65

Wiz 45

Wiz 45

This Game was Pillage (We rolled a 5)

I wasn't confident going into this game as my army has limited drops and units available to baby sit the counters, where as Toby's army had plenty.

Toby deployed the bulk of his army on my right side

On my left he had his fast werewolf allies.

I deployed with a notion the vamp with a wraith troop to back them up would hold off the werewolves until the werewolves (off camera to the left) can back them up and try to hold the middle with the revs and mummies (thinking he'd need to leave some units behind to hold the pillage counters. I deployed pretty heavy on my right flank hoping to punch through and sweep across his flanks. Toby bulked that side up with his remaining deployment drops though.

Toby Went first and moved up extremely aggressively on my left. In the picture below you can see my were wolves behind the height 2 hill, unable to see Toby's werewolf flank.

On the right hand side toby pushed forward towards the counters but keeping out of charge range. Taking a few potshots at my wraiths from his sniffs.

During my turn I charged the were wolves with the vamp and wraiths just to hold them up. My werewolves moved round to the rear for a juicy turn 2 charge, keeping out of charge range from his maw beast pack. On my right I move up to threaten his sniffs, leaving my wraiths in charge range.

Toby's turn 2 saw a sniff regiment charge the wraiths

Toby further advanced his middle, Giant is now threatening my middle, and counter charges from the werewolves

Again as the game hotted up I forgot to take pictures. From left to right- the werewolves routed Tobys wws and the wraiths and vamp finished the other horde turning to face the maw beasts. Toby's giant charged the mummies who I left in range thinking the Giant would be hindered, forgetting strider, opps. It didnt matter as they held on anyway, allowing the revs to flank the giant. Toby moved the Trobones into range to start ripping me a new one. I new these would need to be delt with quickly. on the right Toby moved his trolls up and one horde charged the wraith but being hindered through the swamp nullified his damage slightly, also wiffing his rolls allowed the wraiths to hold. In the previous turn I charged the far right vamp into the biggot but failed to route or waver. Toby then parked him infront of the soulreavers to deny them some mince troll. I had also charged one troop of wraiths into the trolls to slow them down for a turn to allow the soulreavers time to do their thing.

Things went from bad to worse for toby when he failed again to rout the mummies with his giant. This allowed me to clear the giant and take position over the token I moved the characters in to nullify the trombones.

The soul reavers delt with the biggot and troll horde and moved over the counter, The vamp tied up the other horde of trolls.

This is how the game ended 18-2 to me. Looking back on the game we decided Toby shouldn't have over committed the werewolves early on and was unlucky with the trolls. A fun game and banter was flying. We were worried about time so sped things up in the later turns but as it turned out we were the 1st to finish. This did give us time to order our lunch from the cafe before the rush. The meal was ok, but others who ordered after werent as lucky. They had a long wait and some were cold. I'm not sure this little cafe will cope with over 70 players for Clash, some outsourcing maybe required. The spare time before the next round allowed me to look around the shop, which is very well stocked. Unfortunately I couldn't partake in the beer from the bar as I drove but the others took full advantage.

So far I'm 2-0 things are looking good going into round 3....


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Connect
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page